Past Winners

Thank you to all those who have participated over the years with an aim to make a difference

Since 1999, over 500 programs have been funded, for a total of $13 million worldwide in support of causes that change our lives, our communities, and ultimately, our planet. Click here to view the full 2017 Press Release: Sappi North America Announces Recipients of the 18th Ideas that Matter Grant.

2017 Back to top

2017 Judges
Julie Anixter

Special Advisor to the AIGA president | Enterprise Design Principal, Maga Design, Inc.

Randy J. Hunt

Head of Design, Grab | Founder of Citizen Scholar Inc.

2016 Back to top

2016 Judges
Vicky Jones

Board of Directors, Kleen-Tex Industries, Inc.

Sarah Brooks

Distinguished Designer, Digital Journeys, IBM Cognitive Applications

2015 Back to top

2015 Judges
Joan Barlow

Creative Services Officer Robert Wood Johnson Foundation

Debbie Millman

Creator and Host of the award-winning podcast Design Matters

2014 Back to top

2014 Judges
Cheryl Heller

Chair and Partner MFA Design for Social Innovation and CommonWise

New York, New York

Mark Randall

Principal Worldstudio

New York, New York

Lana Rigsby

Founder & CEO Rigsby Hull

Houston, Texas

Christine Gaspar

Executive Director Center for Urban Pedagogy

Brooklyn, New York

Chris Rubino

Director/Creative Director

New York, New York

2013 Back to top

2013 Judges
Michael Lejeune

Creative Director Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority

Los Angeles, California

Jennifer Kinon

Founding Partner Original Champions of Design

New York, New York

Erin Huizenga

Principal and Design Director, Borough + Block

Chicago, Illinois

Bill Drenttel


Hamden, Connecticut

Alyssa Walker


Los Angeles, California

2012 Back to top

2012 Judges
Tracy West

Creative Director 50,000feet

Chicago, Illinois

Sam Shelton

Principal, Creative Director and Founding Partner Kinetik

Washington, D.C.

Rich Hollant

Principal, Strategist and Design Director CO:LAB

Mike Weikert

Founder & Director Social Design & Center for Design Practice at Maryland Institute College of Art

Mariana Amatullo

Cofounder and Leader Designmatters at Art Center College of Design

2011 Back to top

2011 Judges
Petrula Vrontikis

Vrontikis Design Office

Los Angeles, California

Oliver Munday

Oliver Munday (group)

New York, New York

Kit Hinrichs

Studio Hinrichs

San Francisco, California

Dawn Hancock

Firebelly Design

Chicago, Illinois

Allan Chochinov

Partner Core77

New York, New York

2010 Back to top

2010 Judges
Armin Vit


Bloomington, IN

Matt Rollins

Max Media

Atlanta, GA

Doug Powell


Austin, TX

Jessica Helfand

Observer Omnimedia

Hamden, CT

Casey Caplowe


Los Angeles, CA

2009 Back to top

2009 Judges
Scott Santoro


New York, NY

Tim Bruce

Lowercase, Inc.

Chicago, IL

Gaby Brink

Tomorrow Partners

Berkeley, CA

Bill Grant

Grant Design Collaborative

Canton, GA

Ann Willoughby

Willoughby Design

Kansas City, MO

2008 Back to top

2008 Judges
Phil Hamlett

Academy of Art

San Francisco, CA

Scott Stowell


New York, NY

Marcia Lausen


Chicago, IL

Cedomir Kostovic

Missouri State University Department of Art & Design

Springfield, MO

John Bielenberg

Future Partners

Lawrence, KS

2007 Back to top

2007 Judges
Arvi Raquel-Santos


San Rafael, CA

Lita Talarico

School of Visual Arts

New York, NY

Hans Neubert

Frog Design

New York, NY

Adam Larson


Boston, MA

Steven Heller

School of Visual Arts

New York, NY

Laura Des Enfants

D'NA Company

New York, NY

2006 Back to top

2006 Judges
Arvi Raquel-Santos

Weymouth Design

Boston, MA

Laura Des Enfants

D'NA Company

Austin, TX

Keith Helmetag

C&G Partners

New York, NY

Steffanie Lorig

Lorig Design

Seattle, WA

Kim Baer


Santa Monica, CA

Brian Collins


New York, NY

2005 Back to top

2005 Judges
Deb Aldrich

D'NA Company

Pasadena, CA

Doug Herbert

Savage Brands

Houston, TX

Bobby Martin Jr.

Original Champions of Design

New York, NY

Pat Samata


Chicago, IL

Michael Osborne

Michael Osborne Design

San Francisco, CA

2004 Back to top

2004 Judges
DK Holland

DK Holland

Brooklyn, NY

Rick Valicenti


Chicago, IL

Robynne Raye

Modern Dog Design Company

Seattle, WA

John Clark


El Segundo, CA

David Cannon

David Stuart Cannon

2003 Back to top

2003 Judges
Jurek Wajdowicz

Emerson Wajdowicz Studios

New York, NY

Stefan Sagmeister

Sagmeister & Walsh

New York, NY

Fred Ritchin

NYU Tish School of the Arts

New York, NY

Ron Jeffries

2002 Back to top

2002 Judges
Robert Louey

Louey/Rubino Design Group

Santa Monica, CA

Tom Laidlaw

Laidlaw Group

Boston, MA

Kent Hunter

Hunter Bee

Millerton, NY

Tim Bruce

Lowercase, Inc.

Chicago, IL

Deb Aldrich

D'NA Company

Pasadena, CA

2001 Back to top

2000 Back to top