sappi

Announcement

Sappi Limited (Incorporated in the Republic of South Africa) Registration number: 1936/008963/06 JSE share code: SAP ISIN code: ZAE000006284 ("Sappi" or the "company")

25 February 2016

APPOINTMENT OF NEW LEAD INDEPENDENT DIRECTOR AND CHANGES TO BOARD COMMITTEES

Shareholders are referred to the announcement released on the Stock Exchange News Service on 9 October 2015 regarding the retirement of Dr Danie Cronjé as independent chairman of the board of directors ("the Board") and the subsequent appointment of Sir Nigel Rudd as independent chairman with effect from 1 March 2016, and are advised of the following additional changes to the Board and committees in terms of paragraph 3.59(c) of the Listings Requirements of the JSE Limited, all with effect from 1 March 2016:

- Mr Jock McKenzie, independent non-executive director, has been appointed lead independent director to the Board and replaces Sir Nigel Rudd in that capacity. Mr McKenzie has also been appointed as a member of the Nomination and Governance Committee;
- **Mr Valli Moosa**, non-independent, non-executive director, has been appointed Chairman of the Social, Ethics, Transformation and Sustainability Committee and replaces Mr Jock McKenzie in that capacity;
- Mr Mike Fallon, independent non-executive director, has been appointed as Chairman of the Human Resources and Compensation Committee and replaces Sir Nigel Rudd in that capacity; and
- **Mr Rob Jan Renders**, independent non-executive director, has been appointed as a member of the Human Resources and Compensation Committee.

Pursuant to the changes detailed above, the committees of the Board will be constituted as follows with effect from 1 March 2016:

AUDIT COMMITTEE

Dr Len Konar - Chairman Mr Frits Beurskens Mr Mike Fallon Mr Peter Mageza Mrs Karen Osar

NOMINATION & GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE

Sir Nigel Rudd - Chairman Dr Len Konar Mr Jock McKenzie

HUMAN RESOURCES AND COMPENSATION COMMITTEE

Mr Mike Fallon - Chairman Mr Peter Mageza Mr Jock McKenzie Mr Rob Jan Renders

SOCIAL, ETHICS, TRANSFORMATION & SUSTAINABILITY COMMITTEE

Mr Valli Moosa - Chairman Mr Steve Binnie Mr Bob DeKoch Mrs Bridgette Radebe Dr Rudolf Thummer

Full CVs of all Sappi Limited board members can be obtained on Sappi's website on http://www.sappi.com/regions/sa/group/Leadership/Pages/Directors.aspx

Amanda Tregoning Group Secretary & Corporate Counsel Sappi Limited

Sponsor : UBS South Africa (Pty) Ltd

2016\ SENS\ SENS - APPOINTMENT OF LEAD INDEPENDENT DIRECTOR AND CHANGES TO BOARD COMMITTEES