

Announcement

Sappi Limited (Incorporated in the Republic of South Africa) Registration number: 1936/008963/06

JSE share code: SAP ISIN code: ZAE000006284 ("Sappi" or the "company")

11 February 2016

RESULTS OF THE SEVENTY-NINTH ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF SAPPI

Shareholders are advised that at the annual general meeting of shareholders of the company held on Wednesday, 10 February 2016 at 14:00 all the resolutions tabled thereat were passed by the requisite majority of shareholders.

Details of the results of voting at the annual general meeting are as follows:

- total number of Sappi shares in issue as at the date of the annual general meeting: 561 407 699 (541 446 223 ordinary shares and 19 961 476 "A" ordinary shares).
- total number of Sappi shares that could have been voted at the annual general meeting (excluding the treasury shares): 549 758 589.
- total number of Sappi shares that were present/represented at the annual general meeting: 437 381 681 being 79.56% of the total number of Sappi shares that could have been voted at the annual general meeting.

1. Ordinary resolution number 1 : Receipt and acceptance of 2015 Group Annual Financial Statements, including directors' report, auditors' report and Audit Committee report

For	Against	Abstain	Shares voted
436 046 150	12 600	1 322 931	436 058 750
99.99711%	0.00289%	0.24064%	100.00000%

2. Ordinary resolution number 2: Confirmation of appointment of Mr Robertus Johannes Antonius Maria Renders (Rob Jan) as a director of Sappi*

For	Against	Abstain	Shares voted
437 363 627	12 850	5 204	437 376 477
99.99706%	0.00294%	0.00095%	100.00000%

3. Ordinary resolution number 3.1: Re-election of Godefridus Peter Franciscus Beurskens (Frits) as a director of Sappi

For	Against	Abstain	Shares voted
437 085 713	291 836	4 132	437 377 549
99.93328%	0.06672%	0.00075%	100.00000%

4. Ordinary resolution number 3.2: Re-election of Stephen Robert Binnie (Steve) as a director of Sappi

For	Against	Abstain	Shares voted
436 679 571	697 978	4 132	437 377 549
99.84042%	0.15958%	0.00075%	100.00000%

5. Ordinary resolution number 3.3: Re-election of Robert John DeKoch (Bob) as a director of Sappi

For	Against	Abstain	Shares voted
436 702 811	674 738	4 132	437 377 549
99.84573%	0.15427%	0.00075%	100.00000%

6. Ordinary resolution number 3.4: Re-election of Karen Rohn Osar (Karen) as a director of Sappi

For	Against	Abstain	Shares voted
436 943 713	433 836	4 132	437 377 549
99.90081%	0.09919%	0.00075%	100.00000%

7. Ordinary resolution number 3.5: Re-election of Dr Rudolf Thummer as a director of Sappi

For	Ag
436 702 811	67
99.84573%	0.1

Against	Ab
674 738	4
0.15427%	0.00
·	

Abstain
4 132
0.00075%

Shares voted	
437 377 549	
100.00000%	

8. Ordinary resolution number 4.1: Election of Dr D Konar as Chairman of the Audit Committee

For	
383 069 072	
87.58337%	

Against
54 307 405
12.41663%

Abstain
5 204
0.00095%

Shares voted	
437 376 477	
100.00000%	
	437 376 477

9. Ordinary resolution number 4.2: Election of Mr GPF Beurskens as a member of the Audit Committee

For	
437 363 507	
99.99703%	

Against	
12 970	
0.00297%	

Abstain
5 204
0.00095%

	Shares voted
	437 376 477
ĺ	100.00000%

10. Ordinary resolution number 4.3: Election of Mr MA Fallon as a member of the Audit Committee

For	
437 260 267	
99.97343%	

Against
116 210
0.02657%

Abstain	
5 204	
0.00095%	_

Shares voted
437 376 477
100.00000%

11. Ordinary resolution number 4.4: Election of Mr NP Mageza as a member of the Audit Committee

For	
428 315 344	
97.92830%	

Against
9 061 133
2.07170%

Abstain
5 204
0.00095%

Shares voted
437 376 477
100.00000%

12. Ordinary resolution number 4.5: Election of Mrs KR Osar as a member of the Audit Committee

For
437 221 627
99.96460%

Against
154 850
0.03540%

Abstain
5 204
0.00095%

Shares voted	
437 376 477	
100.00000%	

13. Ordinary resolution number 5: Re-appointment of Deloitte & Touche as auditors of Sappi for the year ending September 2016 and until the next Annual General Meeting of Sappi

For	
368 347 278	
84.21733%	

Against
69 029 799
15.78267%

Shares voted
437 377 077
100.00000%

14. Ordinary resolution number 6.1: The placing of all ordinary shares required for the purpose of carrying out the terms of The Sappi Limited Performance Share Incentive Plan (the 'Plan') under the control of the directors to allot and issue in terms of the Plan

For	
433 858	448
99.19565	5%

Against	
3 518 029	
0.80435%	

Abstain
5 204
0.00095%

Shares voted
437 376 477
100.00000%

15. Ordinary resolution number 6.2: The authority for any subsidiary of Sappi to sell and to transfer to The Sappi Limited Share Incentive Scheme and the Sappi Limited Performance Share Incentive Plan (collectively 'the Schemes') such shares as may be required for the purposes of the Schemes

For
433 856 548
99.19522%

Against	
3 519 929	
0.80478%	

Abstain
5 204
0.00095%

Shares voted
437 376 477
100.00000%

16. Ordinary resolution number 7: Non-binding endorsement of Remuneration Policy

For	
357 892 083	
81.82748%	

Against
79 481 866
18.17252%

Abstain
7 732
0.00141%

Shares voted
437 373 949
100.00000%

17. Special resolution number 1: Increase in non-executive directors' fees

For
427 865 671
97.82619%

Against	
9 507 678	
2.17381%	

Abstain
8 332
0.00152%

Shares voted
437 373 349
100.00000%

18. Special resolution number 2: Authority for loans or other financial assistance to related or interrelated companies

For
426 091 249
97.42049%

Against	
11 282 100	
2.57951%	

Abstain
8 332
0.00152%

Shares voted
437 373 349
100.00000%

19. Ordinary resolution number 8: Authority for directors to sign all documents and do all such things necessary to implement the above resolutions

For
437 307 247
99.98403%

Against
69 830
0.01597%

Abstain
4 604
0.00084%

Shares voted	
437 377 077	
100.00000%	

Amanda Tregoning
Group Secretary & Corpora

Group Secretary & Corporate Counsel Sappi Limited

Sponsor: UBS South Africa (Pty) Ltd

2016\ SENS\ SENS - AGM Results - 11 February 2016.docx