sappi

Sappi Limited

Announcement 04 February 2021

Sappi Limited (Incorporated in the Republic of South Africa) Registration number: 1936/008963/06 JSE share code: SAP ISIN code: ZAE000006284

("Sappi" or the "Company")

RESULTS OF THE EIGHTY-FOUTH ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF SAPPI

Shareholders are advised that at the Annual General Meeting of shareholders of the Company held on Wednesday, 03 February 2021 at 14:00 all the resolutions tabled thereat were passed by the requisite majority of shareholders.

Details of the results of voting at the Annual General Meeting are as follows :

- total number of Sappi ordinary shares in issue as at the date of the Annual General Meeting : 552 860 538
- total number of Sappi shares that could have been voted at the Annual General Meeting (excluding the treasury shares) : 547 402 321
- total number of Sappi shares that were present/represented at the Annual General Meeting : 502 567 823 being 90.90% of the total number of Sappi shares that could have been voted at the Annual General Meeting.



1. Ordinary resolution number 1 – Receipt and acceptance of 2020 Group Annual Financial Statements, including Directors' Report, Auditors' Report and Audit and Risk Committee Report

For	Against	Abstain	Shares voted]
500, 460, 614	18, 676	1, 979, 095	500, 479, 290	
100.00%	0.00%	0.36%	90.53%	1
		0.36%	90.53%	2

2. Ordinary resolution number 2.1 – Re-election of Ms ZN Malinga as a director of Sappi

For	Against	Abstain	Shares voted
500, 319, 429	136, 007	2, 002, 949	500, 455, 436
99.97%	0.03%	0.36%	90.52%
		0.36%	90.52%

3. Ordinary resolution number 2.2 – Re-election of Mr V Moosa as a director of Sappi

For	Against	Abstain	Shares voted]
420, 764, 258	80, 632, 484	1, 061, 643	501, 396, 742	
83.92%	16.08%	0.19%	90.69%	1
		0.19%	90.69%	2

4. Ordinary resolution number 2.3 – Re-election of Mr RJAM Renders as a director of Sappi

For	Against	Abstain	Shares voted	
498, 178, 819	3, 216, 643	1,062,923	501,395,462	
99.36%	0.64%	0.19%	90.69%	1
		0.19%	90.69%	2

5. Ordinary resolution number 2.4 – Re-election of Sir Nigel Rudd as a director of Sappi

For	Against	Abstain	Shares voted]
363,360,229	138,035,903	1,062,253	501,396,132	
72.47%	27.53%	0.19%	90.69%	1
		0.19%	90.69%	2



6. Ordinary resolution number 3.1 – Election of Mr NP Mageza as member and Chairman of the Audit and Risk

For	Against	Ī	Abstain	Shares voted	
391,196,508	110,200,824		1,060,653	501,397,332	
78.02%	21.98%		0.19%	90.69%	1
			0.19%	90.69%	2

7. Ordinary resolution number 3.2 – Election of Ms ZN Malinga as a member of the Audit and Risk Committee

For	Against	Abstain	Shares voted]
499,112,843	2,181,607	1,163,535	501,294,450	
99.56%	0.44%	0.21%	90.67%	1
		0.21%	90.67%	2

8. Ordinary resolution number 3.3 – Election of Dr B Mehlomakulu as a member of the Audit and Risk Committee

For	Against	Abstain	Shares voted]
414,549,146	77,770,234	10,138,605	492,319,380	
84.20%	15.80%	1.83%	89.05%	1
		1.83%	89.05%	2

9. Ordinary resolution number 3.4 – Election of Mr RJAM Renders as a member of the Audit and Risk Committee

For	Against	Abstain	Shares voted]
496,933,719	4,459,920	1,064,346	501,393,639]
99.11%	0.89%	0.19%	90.69%	1
		0.19%	90.69%	2

10. Ordinary resolution number 3.5 – Election of Ms JE Stipp as a member of the Audit and Risk Committee

For	Against	Abstai	n	Shares voted	
491,398,196	9,160,022	1,899,76	67	500,558,218]
98.17%	1.83%	0.34%		90.54%	1
		0.34%		90.54%	2



11. Ordinary resolution number 4 – Re-appointment of KPMG Inc. as auditors of Sappi for the year ending September 2020 and until the next Annual General Meeting of Sappi

For	Against	Abstain		Shares voted]
498,214,228	2,346,025	1,898,132		500,560,253]
99.53%	0.47%	0.34%		90.54%	1
		0.34%		90.54%	2

12. Ordinary resolution number 5 – Specific authority to issue ordinary shares

For	Against	Abstain	Shares voted	
497,654,103	4,753,917	50,365	502,408,020	
99.05%	0.95%	0.01%	90.87%	1
		0.01%	90.87%	2

13. Ordinary resolution number 6 – Non-binding endorsement of remuneration policy

For	Against	Abstain	Shares voted	
484,202,272	17,189,481	1,066,632	501,391,753	1
96.57%	3.43%	0.19%	90.69%	1
		0.19%	90.69%	2

14. Ordinary resolution number 7 – Non-binding endorsement of remuneration implementation report

For	Against	Abstain	Shares voted
479,881,839	21,507,527	1,069,019	501,389,366
95.71%	4.29%	0.19%	90.69%
		0.19%	90.69%

15. Special resolution number 1 – Non-executive directors' fees

For	Against	Abstain	Shares voted	
400,914,783	100,479,258	1,064,344	501,394,041	
79.96%	20.04%	0.19%	90.69%	1
		0.19%	90.69%	2



16. Special resolution number 2 – Authority for loans or other financial assistance to related or inter-related companies or corporations

For	Against	Abstain	Shares voted	
496,132,598	5,265,519	1,060,268	501,398,117]
98.95%	1.05%	0.19%	90.69%	1
		0.19%	90.69%	2

17. Ordinary resolution number 8 – Authority for directors to sign all documents and do all such things necessary to implement the above resolutions

For	Against	Abstain	Shares voted]
501,380,294	19,050	1,059,041	501,399,344]
100.00%	0.00%	0.19%	90.69%	1
		0.19%	90.69%	2

1 Disclosed as a percentage of the voteable shares

2 Disclosed as a percentage of the total issued capital

Sponsor : UBS South Africa (Pty) Ltd